ACCESS DENIED

Bolaji. B. Ayomide
2 min readFeb 1, 2024

--

The Power of 'NO'

Denying a few persons or more access to you doesn’t make you a villain. I used to think that maybe, just maybe if I loosened up a bit, bent some rules, and granted some idiots access to me I’d enjoy the kind of favor attributed to my gender. For more context; societally, it is believed that women are more favored than men, they say there’s a feminine power we possess that can be used to get what we want. I may have missed that part coz e no work for me sha.

Anyway, what I’m saying is there’s no need to shrink yourself or your values to accommodate nasty people or things you normally wouldn’t put up with. Trust me, I’ve learnt from experience, the key is to just do you and you’ll attract your own kind of people in the long run. Hey, this is not a cue to do you in the sense that you maintain nasty habits and stick to the that’s how I am phrase o, you’ve got to get better to attract better! Kapeesh?

As I was saying; It is okay to set boundaries and try as much as possible to maintain them. You know, the power of NO is such a great tool for warding off negative people or interactions, people often find it hard to deal with being told NO. NO isn’t rejection, NO could mean we are not on the same page but I have no issues with you, it is not a call to war; Nigerians, please take note!

Denying access to situations, relationships, or commitments that drain you will help you cultivate healthy boundaries and make room for positive people and energies. Invest your precious time in self-nurturing activities and surround yourself with individuals who constantly uplift, support, and inspire you; Be sure to do the same for them as well.

On that note, I have specially created beautiful positive affirmations that you can recite daily to protect your energy against predators;

· My energy is sacred, and I choose to surround myself with positivity.

· I release the guilt associated with saying NO and I prioritize my wellbeing.

· I attract relationships and connections that contribute positively to my life.

· As I receive positive energy, I am also open to giving back positive energy.

· I release anything and anyone that doesn’t serve my highest good.

· Rather than take out past hurt on people, I choose to express kindness and love.

· I am open to setting healthy boundaries and maintaining them.

· I trust my instincts to guide me away from negativity and towards positivity.

I hope these affirmations guide you towards positive people and influences. Be sure to check out the video version of these affirmations on my YouTube Channel. THANK YOU!

--

--