Lonely Hearts

Bolaji. B. Ayomide
3 min readNov 16, 2023

--

An image depicting a lonely person

It’s been a few days since my last post and I must say it’s been a rollercoaster of emotions. I’ve been immersed in activity and I had a hard time choosing what my next post should be about. Thankfully, Laraba’s recent innovation on curating playlists that resonate with you and writing a topic based on this playlist led me here; reminding me of my current state of loneliness and how Akon’s lonely encapsulates my current emotional state. So here goes nothing...

Lonely; I’m not a novice to this feeling, a feeling I’ve felt a lot in my life lately. Akon’s Lonely sums up exactly how I feel, though surrounded by many who love me to bits, I still somehow find a way to feel lonely.

Why? I ask! Why do I feel lonely? When I probed deeper I figured it was more of a mental feeling than a physical feeling. Yes, I’m surrounded by people physically, but maybe, just maybe loneliness stems from my thoughts; the things I dwell upon, the void that constantly yearns to be filled.

Hard girl! hard girl! tor hard girl get emotions and I’ve been really mushy lately I wouldn’t say I don’t know why but let’s just say it’s COMPLICATED.

You know that love that got away, the one you wished stayed forever? Yea that one! the one you’d rather hold onto than "out with the old & in with the new" ? yea that one! Maybe I’m still hoping for a rematch or is it rebound now? I’m not sure. But it’s best to just breathe, live and let live. Move your focus away from the things you can’t control. e.g the feelings of another human towards you. You can only control your feelings towards them, and what you’ll do in this case is to curb those feelings, practice mindfulness and allow yourself to feel all the love that’s right in front of you; constantly reminding you that you’re not ALONE.

This one’s for me and others who may be experiencing loneliness of any form, I have specially created positive daily affirmations to help us lonely hearts snap out of the feeling. Feel free to listen and recite these affirmations as often as you require.

Now the Affirmations;

  • Rather than deny the obvious, I acknowledge that I’m lonely and I won’t fight the feeling.
  • My feelings are valid and I’m choosing the path of positivity.
  • Loneliness is a feeling not my reality so this feeling shall pass.
  • My happiness is not dependent on external circumstances; I create my own joy.
  • I embrace solitude as a chance to nurture my passions and dreams.
  • I am capable of building meaningful connections, and I attract positivity into my life.
  • I am not alone, I am surrounded by genuine love and opportunities for growth & self discovery.
  • My worth is not determined by the presence of a significant other, I am valuable on my own.
  • I am such a vibe and I enjoy my own company; not to be void of human connections but to seek self discovery and growth in solitude.
  • I am willing to nurture genuine human connections while setting boundaries for those who might move mad.

Remember, you’re not alone in your journey and this feeling shall pass! I hope these affirmations serve as a beacon of light and help you snap out of the feeling of being lonely. Feel free to explore more affirmations like these on my YouTube channel.

--

--